1937 - 38
1990 - 91
1989 - 90
The National League, currently named the Vanarama National League for sponsorship reasons, is the top division of the National League in English football. It is the highest level of the National League System and fifth-highest of the overall English football league system. While all of the clubs in the top four divisions of English football are full-time professional, the National League has a mixture of full-time and semi-professional clubs. The National League is the lowest division in the English football pyramid organised on a nationwide basis. Formerly the Conference National, the league was renamed the National League from the 2015–16 season.


The Lancashire Combination was a football league founded in the North West of England in 1891–92. It absorbed the  Lancashire League in 1903. In 1968 the Combination lost five of its clubs to the newly formed Northern Premier League. In 1982 it was finally merged with the Cheshire County League to form the North West Counties League.

The Football League Third Division North Cup was a  football knockout competition open to teams competing in  Football League Third Division North. The competition was first held in 1933-34 and ran until the  1938-39 season. The cup was revived for the 1945–46 season.

The competition was run using a knockout format, with games replayed if level. In the first year the tournament format resulted in 11 first round ties, followed by 4 second round ties (with three byes), and 3 third round matches (with one bye). In most seasons there were minor changes to the format, resulting in differing numbers of ties (and byes) in each round. The tournaments featured all 22 teams from Division Three North, with the exception of the final season, when only 14 teams played in the competition. The final was played on the home ground of one of the two finalists.
The 1945-46 competition started with two cup competitions, the Third Division North (East) Cup and Third Division North (West) Cup. Each cup consisted of 10 teams played on a league basis, although only 10 games were played by each team. The first 8 places in each cup then contested the first round of a two legged knockout competition.

The Football League play-offs are an annual series of football matches to determine the final promotion places within each division of the Football League. In each division they involve the four teams that finish directly below the automatic promotion places. These teams meet in a series of play-off matches to determine the final team that will be promoted. The play-offs were first introduced in 1987 and have been staged at the conclusion of every season since. Since 1990 the winners of each division's play-off competition have been determined in a one-off final.

The Football League Trophy, also known as the  Johnstone's Paint  Trophy is an annual English association football knock-out competition open to the 48 clubs in Football League One and Football League Two, the bottom two divisions in the four (mainly) professional top divisions of English league football. The competition began in the 1983–84 season as the Associate Members' Cup but, from 1992, it has been named the Football League Trophy, after the lower-division clubs became full members of the Football League. The competition replaced the short-lived Football League Group Cup, a competition which was only played in 1981/82 and 1982/83 (although confusingly, in the second year it was also called the Football League Trophy). The competition has been associated with a title sponsor since its second edition.




1918 - 19
1954 - 55
1891 - 92
1933 - 34
2007 - 08
2008 - 09
2007 - 08
2008 - 09
1949, 1950, 1955, 1970, 1973,
1974, 1992, 1995, 2012,
The Cheshire County Football Association Challenge Cup, commonly known as the Cheshire Senior Cup, is a football knockout tournament  founded in the 1879–80 season and involves teams from Cheshire, Greater Manchester and Merseyside,England. It is the County Cup competition of the Cheshire FA and currently involves teams from the Football League  and non-league clubs. However, while non-league clubs often field their first team in the competition, professional clubs often field their reserve teams. The inaugural winners of the cup were Northwich Victoria in 1880 and the record winners of the trophy are Macclesfield Tow.
Masters Football is a six-a-side indoor football competition in the United Kingdom, where players over the age of 35 are chosen by the Masters Football Selection Committee to represent a senior club for which they played. Regional heats are held, and the winners of each go forward to a national finals competition. Events are contested over the course of a single evening (usually on Saturdays or Sundays), with games played in two halves of eight minutes each. The pitch is 60 m (200 ft) by 30 m (98 ft) (the size of an international ice hockey rink), and there is no offside rule. Matches are televised live on the UK subscription channel Sky Sports.

The Liverpool County Football Association Senior Cup, commonly known as the Liverpool Senior Cup, is a football knockout tournament involving teams from the city of Liverpool, England and surrounding areas. It is the County Cup competition of the Liverpool County Football Association 
and involves non -league clubs as well as the three professional teams in  Merseyside: Everton,
Liverpool and Tranmere Rovers. However, while non-league clubs often field their first team in the competition, the professional clubs generally field their  reserve teams.

Competition history
The first Liverpool Senior Cup was played for in 1882-83, with Bootle F.C. becoming the inaugural winners, and the competition has taken place most seasons since then. The final of the 1892-1893  competition was the occasion of the first ever Merseyside derby- Liverpool won the game 1-0. The Cup was suspended during most of the First World War, but continued during the Second World War, largely in the form of exhibition matches between Liverpool and Everton wartime teams.

welsh Cup
1934 - 35

The Welsh Cup (Welsh: Cwpan Cymru) is a knock-out football competition contested annually by teams from  Wales. The Football Association of Wales is the organising body of this competition, which has been run (except during the two World Wars) every year since its inception in 1877–78. In the early years of organised football in Wales, football was very much the sport of North Wales rather than the rugby union playing south – the FAW was founded in Ruabon, near Wrexham in 1876, and Wrexham remained the site of the FAW's head office until 1986; it was not until 1912 that a southern team, Cardiff City, won the Welsh Cup for the first time. The winning team qualifies to play in the following season's UEFA Europa League  (previously teams qualified for the  European Cup Winners' Cup, which was discontinued in 1999).

Until 1995, some clubs playing in England were also invited to play in the Welsh Cup, but could not progress to the European Cup Winners' Cup by winning the Welsh cup. Instead, the best placed Welsh club in the Welsh cup would take the European place.


MOTTO: UBI FIDES IBI LUX ET ROBUR which means "Where there is faith, there is light and strength."

Designed by Ned O'Toole, Paul Harmon and Oisín Ronan.
Special thanks to Tranmere Rovers Football club for the information.
A Special Thanks to the Football Museum Manchester and the Football League for their help with the photos of the Division Three North Shield and the Leyton DAF Trophy and the premission to use them on my website.